Chocolate Liquor

Hello! Welcome to Beyond Soy!

What’s in chocolate liquor? We aren’t quite sure ourselves. Chocolate liquor can be listed as an ingredient in some foods (namely chocolate items), but we aren’t sure if it contains soy.

 We aren't sure if chocolate liquor contains soy, it might! - IMAGE VIA PEXELS

We aren't sure if chocolate liquor contains soy, it might! - IMAGE VIA PEXELS

Since most chocolate contains soy we always check the ingredient list and we specifically look for the presence of soy lecithin, which is used as an emulsifier to keep the ingredients together. Throughout our search for chocolate, we’ve found several chocolates that don’t use soy lecithin (and therefore appear to be soy-free), but some of these chocolates list chocolate liquor as an ingredient. 

Much like baking chocolate, we aren’t sure if chocolate liquor contains soy (likely soy lecithin) or not. Ashley’s tried some, and then felt some soy intolerance symptoms, but we’ve never been able to definitively say that chocolate liquor was to blame. As a result, we try to avoid chocolate liquor even if the rest of the ingredient list is soy-free, just in case. It is easier for us to avoid this particular food than to take the risk of feeling bad after eating it.